The Friend of Stocholm’s Students

The Friend of Stockholm’s Students is an award which SSCO hands out for valuable contributions to the Stockholm students and student unions, and for valuable promotion of Stockholm as a student city. The award has been handed out annually since 2002.


The right to nominate candidates for this prestigious award is given to member unions, elected representatives and personnel within SSCO as well as bodies related to SSCO – such as foundations and companies.

Who can be nominated?

The award can be handed out to organisations, companies, authorities, municipalities or parts of these, and to individuals or groups. The recipient of the award should have made efforts to:

  • Improve the economic and social situation of Stockholm’s students;
  • Generate debate and attention regarding important issues that affect Stockholm’s students;
  • Facilitate and stimulate the work of Stockholm’s students within SSCO or their member unions; or
  • In other ways improve Stockholm as a student city.

I feel incredibly happy and honored to be receiving this fine award! I am so glad that SSCO wishes to raise the work we do at SU as something good!

Anna-Karin Björling

Recipient of The Friend of Stockholm's Students 2021

Recipients of The Friend of Stockholm’s Students

2021 / Anna-Karin Björling

Anna-Karin Björling, Investigator at the Office of the President at Stockholm university

2020 / Karol Vieker

Karol Vieker, Equality and Diversity Manager at Stockholm School of Economics

2019 / Anders Lundgren

Anders Lundgren, Administrative Manager at Royal Institute of Technology

2018 / Eliza Cedervall & Sten Wetterblad

Sten Wetterblad (Chairman, Sthlm6000+) and Eliza Cedervall (Nurse, Studenthälsan i Stockholm)

2017 / The Stockholm Traffic Committee & Quarnevalen

The Stockholm Traffic Committee & Quarnevalen (student carnival)

2015 / Riksbyggen

Riksbyggen (Housing company)

2014 / Maria Rankka

Maria Rankka, CEO of the Stockholm Chamber of Commerce

2016 / The Albano Project

The Albano Project (1,000 new apartments for students and scientist)

2012 / Sten Nordin

Sten Nordin (Financial city commissioner, Stockholms stad)

2013 / Nicke Grundberg

Nicke Grundberg, Chairman of SSCO 2009/10.

2010 / Carin Jämtin

Carin Jämtin (Opposition city commissioner, Stockholm city)

2009 / Joakim Larsson

Joakim Larsson (Housing company and suburban city commissioner, Stockholm city)

2011 / Kåre Bremer

Kåre Bremer (Vice-chancellor at Stockholms university)

2007 / Mats Hellström

Mats Hellström (former Governor, Stockholm County)

2006 / Barbro Berg

Barbro Berg (Head of Activity, Stockholms Akademiska Forum)

2008 / Studentskrapan

Studentskrapan (Student housing complex at Södermalm)

2005 / Mariana Vodovosoff

Mariana Vodovosoff (Co-ordinator, Huddinge Municipality)

2003 / Svenska Bostäder

Svenska Bostäder (Housing company)

2004 / Tidningen Studentliv

Tidningen Studentliv (TCO-owned student newspaper)

2002 / Ulf Adelsohn

Ulf Adelsohn (Governor, Stockholm County)

How is the winner determined?

SSCO’s board chooses the winner based on the nominations received. The winner will be contacted in April and is then presented with their award during the Walpurgis (Sw. Valborg) celebrations at Skansen.

What does the award entail?

The person or persons handed the award will forever carry the title The Friend of Stockholm’s Students, followed by the year of their award. For Stockholm’s students, student unions and SSCO this is a good way to highlight the many actors who actively work to improve the situation for Stockholm’s students and Stockholm as a student city. The award has always brought great appreciation amongst both winners and nominees.


Sveavägen 110
113 50 Stockholm


Contact us

To see all our contact details,
please visit


Follow us